• LEA

Buford Ranch Wins 2018 OCA Ranch Rodeo But the Real Winner is the Children’s Hospital Foundation

Results are in for the 2018 OCA Ranch Rodeo held at the Lazy E Arena.

Matt Butter representing Ford and Weston Givens, OCA President present the OCA Ranch Rodeo Champion Team trophy to the Buford Ranch cowboys. Buford won championship honors in 2017 as well. This is Buford Ranch’s 9th OCA Ranch Rodeo win.

Media Contact: Oklahoma Cattlemen’s Association, Chancey Hanson

405-743-7844 or

Source: Oklahoma Cattlemen's Association

August 27, 2018

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK. –Twelve teams of ‘real ranch’ cowboys competed Friday and Saturday night in five different events mirroring real ranch work. The 34th Oklahoma Cattlemen’s Association (OCA) Ranch Rodeo is a benefit for The Children’s Hospital Foundation. The Oklahoma Ford Dealers is the presenting partner for the OCA Ranch Rodeo and has been since the inception of the event in 1985.

The Children’s Hospital Foundation has been the selected charity since 1997. In that time OCA has donated more than $475,000 to CHF to help fund children’s medical research and treatment for children right here at home in Oklahoma.

The Buford Ranch won champion team honors by winning the saddle bronc riding and wild cow milking events. This makes the ninth time for Buford Ranch to win since the inception of the event in 1985. The cowboys riding for the Buford Ranch include: Doug Branch, John Holloway, Rielly Holloway, Austin Holloway and George Henry. This win qualifies Buford Ranch will compete at the Working Ranch Cowboy Association National Finals this fall. George Henry was selected for the Top Hand Award. He also rode the Top Horse.

“The prize for the winning cowboys is not much for the bumps and bruises,” said Tim Drummond, OCA Ranch Rodeo Chairman. “But the camaraderie among the ranch teams paired with our mission . . . ‘Cowboys Helping Kids’ makes participating worthwhile and enjoyable.”

The 2018 participating ranch teams include: Alfalfa County Land & Cattle, Cherokee, Okla.; Spur Ranch, Vinita, Okla.; Buford Ranches, LLC, Hominy, Okla.; Stuart Ranch, Waurika, Okla.; Drummond Land & Cattle Co., Pawhuska, Okla.; Hall Ranch & Daube Cattle Co., Comanche and Ardmore, Okla.; Treadwell Land & Cattle, Frederick, Okla.; Kelly Ranch, Marlow, Okla.; Lazy Rafter Slash Ranch, Lenapah, Okla.; Choctaw Nation Ranches, Durant, Okla.; Whitmire Ranch, Delaware, Okla.; and Stierwalt Ranch & Cattle Co., Shidler, Okla.

The reserve champion team was Whitmire Ranch; Hall Ranch/Daube Cattle Company, 3rd; Spur Ranch, 4th; Choctaw Ranches, 5th and Drummond Ranch, 6th.

The results of the Saddle Bronc Riding are: Buford Ranch, 1st; Spur Ranch, 2nd; Alfalfa Land and Cattle Co., 3rd. The results of the Team Penning event are: Whitmire Ranch, 1st; Stuart Ranch, 2nd; Spur Ranch, 3rd. The results of the Stray Gathering event are: Treadwell Land and Cattle, 1st; Whitmire Ranch, 2nd; Drummond Land and Cattle, 3rd. Results of the Team Branding event are: Hall Ranch/Daube Cattle Company, 1st; Lazy Rafter Slash, 2nd; Choctaw Ranches, 3rd. Results of the Wild Cow Milking are: Buford Ranch, 1st; Hall Ranch/Daube Cattle Company, 2nd; Choctaw Ranches, 3rd.

“We really appreciate the Oklahoma Ford Dealers for making this event possible since the beginning along with the many other sponsors. Thank you to the ranch teams who participated and the fans that came out to cheer them on,” Drummond said.

The OCA is the trusted voice of the Oklahoma Cattle Industry. OCA is the only voice that speaks solely for the cattlemen of Oklahoma and represents beef producers in all 77 counties across the state. The OCA officers, board of directors and membership encourages you to join us in our advocacy efforts to ensure less government intervention, lower taxes and a better bottom line. For more information about OCA membership, the theft reward program or activities call 405-235-4391 or visit

145 views0 comments

Tel: 405-282-3004| Fax: 405-282-3785


9600 Lazy E Dr.

Guthrie, OK 73044


  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© 2023 by Lazy E Arena